Regional Partners

The Heart of Appalachia Tourism Authority was created in 1993 to tell the authentic story and promote the westernmost counties of Buchanan, Dickenson, Lee, Russell, Scott, Tazewell, Wise and the City of Norton as an attractive tourism destination focusing on our exciting outdoor adventure and relaxing scenic beauty.

The Blue Ridge Travel Association (BRTA) is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting travel to the Blue Ridge Highlands of Southwest Virginia.

The LENOWISCO Planning District Commission is authorized under the Virginia Regional Cooperation Act to serve as one of the twenty-one planning district commissions in the Commonwealth of Virginia. LENOWISCO serves the Counties of Lee, Scott, Wise and the City of Norton.

The mission of the Cumberland Plateau Planning District Commission is to promote regional cooperation, coordinate the regional activities and policies of member local governments, and provide technical assistance to local governments in their planning and development activities upon their request.

The Mount Rogers Planning District Commission (MRPDC) is an organization that promotes regional cooperation and planning in Southwest Virginia. We serve the Counties of Bland, Carroll, Grayson, Smyth, Washington, and Wythe and the independent Cities of Bristol and Galax.

The New River Valley Regional Commission is an organization comprised of 12 local governments and three higher education institutions for the purpose of encouraging collaboration to address regionally significant issues and opportunities. Also known as PDC 4, NRVRC encompasses the counties of Floyd, Giles, Montgomery, and Pulaski, and the City of Radford.

High Knob Enhancement Corporation

The mission of the High Knob Enhancement Corporation is to promote the enhancement and use of High Knob and surrounding areas in the Counties of Wise and Scott, Virginia and the City of Norton, Virginia in order to create a major tourist destination for visitors seeking premier outdoor recreational and educational experiences.

Opportunity Southwest Virginia is piloting the way for the region to align resources, highlighting opportunities for entrepreneurs, supporting their efforts, and expanding the spirit they bring to their communities. Through collaborative partnerships, the initiative is working to rally existing and emerging economic and community development efforts to create thriving entrepreneurial communities that will accelerate progress for both new and established ventures.

The West Piedmont Planning District Commission (WPPDC) is a regional planning organization serving the counties of Franklin, Henry, Patrick, and Pittsylvania; the cities of Danville and Martinsville; and the Town of Rocky Mount. Formed in 1970, the WPPDC is one of twenty-one state designated planning districts in the Commonwealth of Virginia charged with developing collaborative regional approaches to issues of greater than local impact including, but not limited to, economic development, transportation, and legislative priorities.