Friends of SWVA Board & Mission

The mission of Friends of Southwest Virginia is: 

  • To preserve, promote and present the cultural and natural assets of Southwest Virginia; 
  • To work in partnership in the region to generate economic development through these efforts; 
  • To provide educational and cultural opportunities for the general public and students of the region; 
  • To showcase the cultural assets of SWVA at the SWVA Cultural Center & Marketplace (formerly Heartwood)


SalutationNameServing AsCommunity, CountyOrganization
Mr.John Kilgore, Jr.ChairGate City, ScottScott County Economic Development Authority
Mr.Aaron SizemoreVice ChairMarion, SmythMount Rogers Planning District Commission
Mr.Fred RameySecretaryCity of NortonCity of Norton
Mr.Steve LawsonTreasurerBig Stone Gap, WiseTown of Big Stone Gap
Ms.Amanda LivingstonDirectorChilhowie, SmythSmyth County Tourism Association
Mr. Todd WolfordDirectorWytheville, WytheWytheville Main Street
Ms. Shannon BlevinsDirectorWiseUniversity of Virginia’s College at Wise
Mr.Bryan HornEx Officio with Voting Rights, Director - DHCDCommonwealth of VirginiaDepartment of Housing & Community Development
DelegateJames Will MorefieldEx Officio with Voting Rights, Chair - SWVA CHFTazewellVirginia House of Delegates
Ms.Rita McClennyEx Officio with Voting Rights, President - VTCCommonwealth of VirginiaVirginia Tourism Corporation
Mr.Jimmy AdkinsDirectorDuffieldDirector of Planning, LENOWISCO Planning District Commission
Ms.Lydenna MartinDirectorFloydFloyd County Community and Economic Development Director
Ms.Allison MaysDirectorAbingdonDirector, Southwest Center at Virginia Tech
Mr.Bryce SimmonsDirectorStuartTown Manager, Town of Stuart
Ms.Kristie EberlyDirectorMartinsvilleExecutive Director, West Piedmont Planning District Commission